About Us


History of the Ministry of Justice   

The State Ministry of Justice is amongst the key ministries formed when the state was created in 1991. The first Military Administrator of the state established the office of the Attorney General and Commissioner of Justice.

Persons that held the offices of the Attorney General and Commissioner of Justice were from different segments of the legal profession i.e. Public Bar, Private Bar and the Academia.

List of the Attorneys/General & Commissioners

  1. Alhaji Ali Musa Hassan
  2. Umaru Maigari (late)
  3. Muhammad Tabiu (Now Professor of Law and SAN)
  4. Mikailu Abdullahi (late)
  5. Abdulhadi Yalwa Suleiman
  6. Ibrahim Hassan
  7. Mrs Nana Aisha Abdullahi
  8. Tijjani Inuwa Dutse
  9. Yakubu Abdullahi Hussaini
  10. Sani Hussaini Garun Gabas (SAN)
  11. Musa Adamu Aliyu

Permanent Secretaries

  • Late Justice Nana Aisha Abdullahi
  • Ali Abubakar Babandi
  • Justice Lawal Shuaibu
  • Late Justice Nana Aisha Abdullahi
  • Ali Musa Hassan
  • Muhammed Abdu Sambo
  • Hussaini Magama
  • Hajiya Hauwa Zakar

Many staff of the Ministry are elevated to the bench, some elected into an electable position while others are appointed in to various degrees of exalted offices across the state and the federation.

Late Umaru Maigari and late Nana Aisha Abdullahi were elevated to the High Court of Justice of Jigawa State. Late Justice Nana Aisha Abdullahi was the first Female Permanent Secretary and Solicitor General of the Ministry and also first female judge in the Jigawa State Judiciary. Justice Abdulhadi Yalwa Suleiman is currently a High Court Judge in the Jigawa State High Court of Justice.

Ibrahim Hassan served as Secretary to the State Government of Jigawa State and two-times Deputy Governor of Jigawa State. He held the office during the tenure of Ibrahim Saminu Turaki and the first tenure of His Excellency the Executive Governor of Jigawa State Alhaji Muhammed Badaru Abubakar MON Mni. Currently, Ibrahim Hassan is a member of the 9th Senate.

Tijjani Inuwa Dutse is the longest serving Attorney General and Commissioner of Justice in the state. He is a traditional title holder of Madakin Dutse. He is a member of the National Institute of Strategic Studies, Kuru, a Life bencher. Madakin Dutse is a former member of National Judicial Council and also a former member of the Legal Practitioners’ Disciplinary Committee.

Honourable Justice Muntari Adamu the former Chief Judge of Jigawa State served as a Director in the Ministry while Honourable Justice Ali Abubakar Babandi Gumel of the Court of Appeal served as Permanent Secretary and Solicitor General, Honourable Justice Mohammed Lawal Shu’aibu is a Justice of the Court of Appeal and he served as Solicitor General and Permanent Secretary in the Ministry before his elevation to the Federal High Court.

Two former Attorneys General; Professor Muhammad Tabi’u and Sani Hussaini Garun-Gabbas had been elevated to the prestigious rank of Senior Advocate of Nigeria.

Other notable former staff includes:

  1. Justice Ahmed Mohammed Kazaure (Justice of Jigawa State High Court)
  2. Justice Adamu Turaki Mohammed (Justice of the Federal High Court of Nigeria).
  3. Justice Musa Ubale (Justice of Jigawa State High Court)
  4. Justice Mustapha Tijjani (Justice of the National Industrial Court).
  5. Abubakar Sadiq Muhammad (Jallo) (Now a member representing Hadejia Constituency in the Jigawa State House of Assembly).
  6. Ahmed Gambo Saleh Esq. (Secretary of the National Judicial Council) and was also the Chief Registrar of the Supreme Court before his current appointment.
  7. Muneer Musdapher (Member of the Judicial Service Commission)
  8. Sabo S. Kiyawa (Chief Registrar of the Jigawa State Sharia Court of Appeal)
  9. Musa Aliyu Abubakar (Clerk of the Jigawa State House of Assembly).
  10. Lawan D. Baba (Permanent Secretary Jigawa State Minstry of Commerce).

© Copyright 2020 Jigawa State Ministry of Justice - All Rights Reserved